@Damo said in All Blacks vs Boks:
The tap has to be taken from the Mark, or from behind it.
However there is definitely nothing in the law that says the player has to wait for the ref to make the Mark before he can take it. We know this from the definitions and also because there is a special provision in 21.7 that states if the opposition aren't back 10m then the second PK cannot be taken before the ref makes the Mark. If this were true of all PKs then there's no need to state it as a special case.
Equally though, the player can't rush to the referee and take it there. The Mark is where the offence occurred (unless stated otherwise in the relevant law).
Both of those ideas are myths that you hear occasionally.
Now as for whether Smith is ok where he took it from its debatable. The Mark is where the offence took place, or in the ruck.
I don't accept that he's 5 metres from the Mark; which seems like hyperbole to make a point. However he's also clearly not exactly in line with it either. He's gone to the side by about a metre give or take. Is that OK? Maybe, maybe not. I can see arguments either way for it being OK. It's marginal.
What I do know is that if there is one ref in the world who is likely to be fine with it it's Owens. Owens is pretty clearly regarded by WR as the best ref around currently, which suggests they are probably fine with it too.
YMMV of course.
My 5m estimate is from watching the end on replay. Is it 4? Is it 4.5 or 3.9, I'm not sure. But what I'm saying is the obstacle of the ruck is no longer in the way and Smith gets a, literal, try scoring opportunity.
Whether he still would have had that opportunity if he had taken it at the correct spot and had to angle around the ruck before putting in his chip, we'll never know. It was good attacking ball regardless, I just find lax refereeing of that sort of behaviour irritating, one day someone will do that 5m from the goal line in a RWC final ......